Stop the crap!

I’ve been musing on what makes an ideal environment to live in, as kiddy-clutter, broken stuff and things that need clearing out stare back at me, despite continuing efforts to eradicate them. Stuff that I never authorised just keeps sneaking in. Possibly under cover of darkness.

I think Dieter Rams put it best in his commandments for good design when he said that good design needs to be aesthetic, to be useful, to be honest and as discreet as an English butler.   I’ve had limited experience with English butlers, but that sounds good to me.  I’d add sustainability and a sense of humour to the mix.

The words of William Morris also ring true “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful”.  Words to live by.  This is what’s on my mind when I’m thinking about stuff that’s allowed in the front door and stuff that’s pushed out the back door to be recycled/donated/overhauled/aggressively gifted or finally thrown in a dumpster as a very last resort.

The IKEA mothership has been accused of churning out disposable, cheap and nasty goods, but if (big IF) you are selective, you can find great products at amazing prices. It’s democratic;  folks with great taste but few funds can  construct a pleasing interior, and personalisation of mass market goodies can avoid that ‘living in a catalogue’ feel. So provided the fashion-led and poorly fabricated stuff is avoided, even Ikea has a place in my ideal environment.

In essence my ideal environment philosophy boils down to this:

Clear out the crap. 

Buy only what you love.

Make stuff.

 

I’m thinking I”ll apply this to some reusable shopping tote bags which I’ve been meaning to whip up on the Brother, but are yet to materialise. Pun intended.

I’ll also be trying to apply this as Christmas hits, disposable and broken toys hit their annual peak, and ideas of sustainable expenditure disappear as quickly as festive cheer in a over-crowded Christmas car park…

One response to this post.

  1. Great blog, you sound like a really good mum.
    As I live on the road carting around worthless objects is a big NO.
    I’ve had to put things out the door and drive away if their not used.
    Good life tho.
    Cheers, love reading your thoughts.
    Steve

    Reply

Leave a Reply

