Whiter shade of pale

My collection of favourite flowers, my very own White Album, is almost complete. It wasn’t a conscious decision to select white petalled specimens above all others, but I’ve ended up surrounded by a palate of white and cream and silvery foliage, punctuated by the odd bright colour.  If I can just persuade my favourite flower in the world, the flannel flower, to grow, my collection will be complete. 

This partly stems from visiting Vita Sackville West’s stunning white garden at Sissinghurst, where an entire garden section comprises nothing but white flowering or silver leafed plants.  It’s the most elegant, relaxing and visually stunning garden I’ve ever seen.

But it’s not just the look of white flowers,  I’ve also been lead by my nose, and my favourite scents seem to be white flowers as well. My favourite perfumes in the world are now growing in my garden: jasmine, rose, gardenia, magnolia and frangipani.  Bliss.

Leave a Reply

