Breakfast with Branson – screw it, just do it.

At a breakfast with Sir Richard Branson this week (just me and 1600 others), it was clear a key part of his success is the attitude of having a go – or as he would put it “Screw it, Just Do It!”.  

It’s just so easy to get too comfortable and avoid risk taking… It’s in our DNA to seek comfort and security.  That means many roads not taken and experiences never lived.  And I’m thinking that’s not a good use of life.

I’ve decided to make myself to take 2 risks a week.  They can be almost anything, they just have to be out of my comfort zone.  The test is – does the idea of doing it make me feel uncomfortable, give me sweaty palms, but deliver a potential upside?

I’m keeping in mind Branson’s view on risk taking:

“You fail if you don’t try. If you try and you fail, yes, you’ll have a few articles saying you’ve failed at something. But if you look at the history of American entrepreneurs, one thing I do know about them: An awful lot of them have tried and failed in the past and gone on to great things.”

I’m starting small – so far I’ve introduced myself to a few complete strangers that I’ve been admiring from afar.  I’ve asked for help and advice from people who have been incredibly kind and generous with their time, so each micro-risk has paid off handsomely.    

I’m working my way up to bigger risks, whilst keeping in mind the following:

Often the difference between a successful person and a failure is not one has better abilities or ideas, but the courage that one has to bet on one’s ideas, to take a calculated risk – and to act“. Andre Malraux

Leave a Reply

