Charity vs Hypocrisy

How many times have you attended a ball for a charity or other worthy cause, and spent more on your outfit than you donated? I think I’ve been guilty of this in the past.  But I just can’t bear the hypocrisy anymore.  

Like them young girls, I do get weary wearing the same old shaggy dress, but now I’m gonna try a little something else: borrow or go retro.  

Tomorrow is the white tie dinner for White Ribbon Day.  The prevention of violence against women is such an important cause, and this time I’m not going shopping – I’m going retro.  I’m wearing a frock that I haven’t worn for about 2 decades – a high school formal dress.  It’s strapless with a sweetheart neckline, short at the front and long at the back, in glorious polyester watermark satin since I couldn’t afford the real stuff as a teenager.

Let’s hope that the zip can handle the pressure of a few hours in the name of a good cause…

One response to this post.

  1. P.S. Thanks to my lovely friends who emailed me offering frocks to borrow!

    A true friend = one who lends their Burberry Prorsum…

    I went retro-a-go-go and wore the high school formal watermark polyester number – discovered it’s truly marvellous for masking wine spillage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

